Tuesday, January 23, 2018

'All Men Having Power Ought be Mistrusted.

Checks and Balances in government

Why are there three separate and distinct branches of government, each with a different function? The framers of the Constitution did not wish to return to the totalitarian system of governance imposed on colonial America by the British government.

To ensure that no single person or entity had a monopoly on power, the Founding Fathers designed and instituted a system of checks and balances. The president's power is checked by the Congress, which can refuse to confirm his appointees, for example, and has the power to impeach, or remove, a president. Congress may pass laws, but the president has the power to veto them (Congress, in turn, may override a veto). And the Supreme Court can rule on the constitutionality of a law, but Congress, with approval from two-thirds of the states, may amend the Constitution.

The purpose of the three branches of Government (Judicial, Executive and Legislative) is a concept known as checks and balances. Checks and balances ensures that no person or group accumulates too much power or is able to make decisions without oversight. An unofficial fourth branch of the government is the media, owned and operated by the public to be informed by sources other than those in control of the government, since their careers and positions are largely determined by public opinion it gives the media some measure of power among the three main branches. 

Separation of Powers: A System of Checks and Balances

Because, 'All Men Having Power Ought be Mistrusted.'

No comments:

Post a Comment

Why is it that no democrat is quoting these quotes?

What about Hillary quotes  if she would be president? What if these quote's are coming to be  an oxymoron while trump is presiden...